Stamp duty penalties remain outside the FA 2007, Sch. 24 (penalties for errors), FA 2008, Sch. 41 (failure to notify) or FA 2009, Sch. 56 (late payments) regimes.

According to SA 1891, s. 15(2), any interest or penalty payable on stamping must be denoted on the instrument by a particular stamp. HMRC practice in this regard is explained in Stamp Taxes on Shares Manual, para. STSM154010, STSM154020 and is reproduced below.

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i Tax and Accounting subscription.

No subscription?

Contact us to discuss your requirements.