The Fraud Act 2006 provides a statutory definition of the criminal offence of fraud, defining it in three classes:

(1)fraud by false representation;

(2)fraud by failing to disclose information; and

(3)fraud by abuse of position.

The Fraud Act 2006 also provides that a person found guilty of fraud is liable to a fine or imprisonment for up to 12 months on summary conviction (six months in Northern Ireland), or a fine or imprisonment for up to ten years on conviction on indictment. This Act largely replaced the laws relating to obtaining property by deception, obtaining a pecuniary advantage and other offences that were created by the Theft Act 1978.

Need help? Get subscribed!

To subscribe to this content, simply call 0800 231 5199

We can create a package that’s catered to your individual needs.

Or book a demo to see this product in action.