The School Standards and Framework Act 1998 (SSFA 1998), s. 45–53 provides for local authority maintained schools to belong to one of the following categories:

(1)community schools;

(2)foundation schools (formerly grant-maintained schools and now including trust schools);

(3)voluntary schools (including voluntary aided schools and voluntary controlled schools);

(4)community special schools;

(5)foundation special schools (including trust special schools).

The majority of schools fall into one of the first three categories.

Local authority maintained schools does not include:

(1)city technology colleges;


(3)pupil referral units.

Need help? Get subscribed!

To subscribe to this content, simply call 0800 231 5199

We can create a package that’s catered to your individual needs.

Or book a demo to see this product in action.