In 1957, the Treaty of Rome established the European Economic Community (EEC), which is now known as the European Union (EU). The treaty provided for:

(1)the progressive abolition of all barriers to the free movement of goods, persons, capital and services;

(2)the formulation of a common investment and transport policy and a common agricultural policy;

(3)the avoidance of distortion of competition;

(4)co-operation on social policy; and

(5)the establishment of a uniform tariff to be progressively reduced in time.

The membership of the EU has increased through treaties of accession, e.g.:

(1)UK, Denmark and Eire (from 1 January 1973);

(2)Greece (from 1 January 1981);

Need help? Get subscribed!

To subscribe to this content, simply call 0800 231 5199

We can create a package that’s catered to your individual needs.

Or book a demo to see this product in action.