Certain intangible fixed assets (including options or rights over them) are excluded in whole or in part from the IFA rules. There are three kinds of exclusion:

(1)assets that are wholly excluded (CTA 2009, s. 803–809);

(2)assets that are excluded except as respects royalties (CTA 2009, s. 810–813); and

(3)assets that are excluded to a specified extent (CTA 2009, s. 814, 815).

Where an asset is excluded in part from the IFA rules, the part that is not excluded is treated as if it were a separate asset falling within the IFA rules. Any apportionment for this purpose must be just and reasonable (CTA 2009, s. 802).

Assets that are wholly excluded

Assets wholly excluded by the legislation include:

Need help? Get subscribed!

To subscribe to this content, simply call 0800 231 5199

We can create a package that’s catered to your individual needs.

Or book a demo to see this product in action.