Transfers to the following are exempt under IHTA 1984, s. 25 and Sch. 3:

the National Gallery;

the British Museum;

the National Museums of Scotland;

the National Museum of Wales;

the Ulster Museum;

any other similar national institution which exists wholly or mainly for the purpose of preserving for the public benefit a collection of scientific, historic or artistic interest and which is approved for the purposes of this Schedule by the Treasury;

any museum or art gallery in the UK which exists wholly or mainly for that purpose and is, or has been, maintained by a local authority or university in the UK;

Want to read more?

This content requires a Croner-i Tax and Accounting subscription.

No subscription?

Contact us to discuss your requirements.